top of page
  • Writer's picturesveeufemia

School and Educational System in Ukraine

Updated: May 20, 2018

The school system in Ukraine is a world that I was super eager to discover since I was arrived, being that I personally consider it a reliable mirror of the society and of his background. Moreover, I had in mind a project to start with some highschools of my hosting city, Vinnytsia, concerning the creation of an open-group composed and leaded only by students, in order to have an opportunity to the traditional decisional system leaded by represenatives, a way to achive a higher level of democracy, in a world like highschool where it's actually possible and productive. So this project was actually my way to enter in school and being in touch with youngsters again :)


What I found actually surprised me, because a lot of differences popped up very soon.


The main one is that, the school, talking about the phyisical building, hosts students from 6 to 17-18. That mean that in the same place a pupil of 16 y.o. lives with a child of 7 y.o., creating an enviroment that "occidentals" are not used to. The schools seems organized, some more, some less, the students wears uniforms, are curious when a stranger comes in, smiling, friendly and open. I really like their organizational system concerning cooking and serving food at the canteen, cleaning and ordering, because the students themselves help and work for this activities, including the younger ones.


Me in School #30 doing an activity (pupils in Ukraine nowadays hare much more eager to learn english, more than Italy, I can tell!!)

The difference that actually shocked me the most and make me think the most, was the attitude af all the schools that I visited that had some sections dedicated to the Army or the Maidan Revolution. The critical situation of this country concerning the conflict in Crimea contributes to change the opinion and the image that the population has of the Army and of war.

I saw in several schools, other than pictures of soldiers who belong to Vinnytsia or that studied in one particular school, some weapons on display on the cases, something that you could never assist in Italy. This picture really helped me building my idea of my wonderful hosting country.


However, every school visited hosted me in a very generous and available way, making me feel strangely appreciated for my native country and its European membership.

It's a good souvenir that i will keep in mind for a long time.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page